Posted by: Administrator | December 26, 2010

I’ve learned about the transformational effects of yoga.

One of the things that I’m most thankful for in 2011 is my exploration into    yoga. Growing up as a red-blooded Texan, I never envisioned that yoga  would be something that would become such a big part of my life.

This June I started going to the Laughing Buddha in Charlotte, NC (www.laughingbuddhanc.com) to 2-3  times per week. The first 6 weeks or so were pretty grueling. I’ve generally  been a relatively inflexible person, and I’d emerge from a 60 minute class looking like I’d jumped fully clothed into a swimming pool.

As the months wore on, I developed more stamina, to the point where I was  able to focus on the breathing and mental aspects as well as understanding  and engaging with the asanas. I’ve also enjoyed picking up new music  along the way.

The effect has really been fairly transformational. I have more energy, I’ve  trimmed up a bit, and I think it has also been relaxing and  productive to my mental focus. I really think there is something to the mind-body connection.

I even hit up the Haute Yoga on Christmas day here in Rancho Santa Fe. My first experience into true hot yoga,  it about made my heart explode –  but I really enjoyed it.

Thanks to all my friends at the Laughing Buddha! Namaste.

-DSR

Leave a Reply

Categories

